The Retronym

The Retronym, by Scott Emmons

The retronym’s a useful word,
A favorite of the language nerd.
It’s coined when innovation’s done
And then refers to Version One.
To wit, our mail was simply mail
Till e-mail forced the added “snail.”
I had to wait till I was grown
To learn a phrase like “land-line phone.”
And no new tricks for this old dog!
The watch I wear is “analog.”
There’s “Classic Coke” and “in-ground pool.”
The retronym conveys “old school.”
But now my lesson’s done.  I guess
I’ll watch some “Star Trek: TOS.”

(Found at The Daily Rhyme.)

Leave a Reply

