“some coherence needs to be sacrificed for the sake of avoiding the continuity of a corpse”

When I am bored by poems, I am often bored because the poem is making a big deal about the Liberty Bell being in Philadelphia, when really the cause for celebration is that the Liberty Bell is on the moon and right here in my pocket. Connectedness is sexy and is most remarkable not when arranged but rather deranged. A poem that doesn’t go through changes of mood is a protected poem, very inexperienced, even naive. I like to live in a house as much as the next fellow, but I like lots of electrical outlets and windows. I look to art for the collaboration of life with materials and a corroboration that life is happening. Not a pile of sticks all broken to the same length. I want poems to give me a sense of the whorl and chatter of this world, its terrors and glees, its sheer unlikeliness. I don’t need a poet crossing guard. I want poems that achieve that surrealist goal of uniting representation and expression. I want excitement, and if some coherence needs to be sacrificed for the sake of avoiding the continuity of a corpse, so be it.

~Dean Young, author of Bender: New and Selected Poems

(Found via Matt Mauch at Bomblog.)

Leave a Reply

